8 September 2015

New Adventures & Re:Bourne are delighted to announce that Jamaal Burkmar is the winner of the 2015/16 New Adventures Choreographer Award

Nearly 100 applied for the award. Burkmar was shortlisted with six other emerging choreographers: Corey Baker, Tara D’Arquian, Alexandra Green, Eleesha Drennan, Andrew McNicol and Matt Nicholson. Burkmar was chosen after a weekend of interviews, debate and deliberation chaired by Bourne and his team of distinguished judges: Scott Ambler (Associate Artist, New Adventures), Lez Brotherston (Designer and Associate Artist, New Adventures), Caroline Finn (Artistic Director, National Dance Company Wales), Christopher Hampson (Artistic Director, Scottish Ballet), Etta Murfitt (Associate Artist Director, New Adventures & Re:Bourne) and Sharon Watson (Artistic Director, Phoenix Dance Theatre). Edward Watson (Principal Dancer, Royal Ballet) and Nina Goldman (New York based teacher and performer) also contributed to the shortlisting process.

Jamaal will now receive 12 months of mentoring and support to develop new work to be presented by New Adventures, at his own showcase performance, at a London venue in the Autumn of 2016.

The biennial NACA award is run by the charitable arm of New Adventures, Re:Bourne, who provide support on budgeting, publicity, contracting, fundraising and tour booking. The project will be produced and managed by New Adventures and Re:Bourne Resident Artists Kerry Biggin and Lee Smikle.

NACA has established itself as one of the sector’s most hotly sought after platforms for new choreographic talent. The award was originally established by colleagues and friends in celebration of Matthew Bourne’s 50th birthday in 2010. James Cousins won the inaugural award and Tom Jackson-Greaves was the runner-up. Cousins has gone on to establish an international choreographic career working with major dance companies around the world and touring his own work globally. Jackson-Greaves is in demand as a dance-theatre choreographer collaborating with a wide range of artists on projects in the UK and overseas. The 2013/14 award was awarded to three artists: John Ross, Sally Marie and Caroline Finn all of whom have established enviable careers as dance-makers. Finn was recently appointed Artistic Director of National Dance Company Wales.

Matthew Bourne said today "After an insightful weekend of deliberation and debate Jamaal was a clear favourite of our judges from this year’s short-listed applicants. We were all impressed by Jamaal’s potential to be a leading choreographer. His exploration of movement through eclectic music choices coupled with his desire to share his personal journey through his choreography make him an exciting and deserving winner.”
Jamaal Burkmar said today "I’m thrilled and delighted to have won this year’s award and to be following in the footsteps of such brilliant previous winners. I can’t wait to get started on developing new work and showcasing it to the industry next year.”
The New Adventures Choreographer Award is supported using public funds from Arts Council England. 

Latest news